UCR

CNAS Undergraduate Academic Advising Center



On-Campus Research Opportunities


woman with microscopeResearch Opportunities:
Other Research opportunities are listed by topic.

All Fields of Science

  • CAMP-UCR
    California Alliance for Minority Participation in Science, Engineering and Mathematics
  • MARC U* Program
    Maximizing Access to Research Careers
  • MSRIP
    Mentoring Summer Research Internship Program
  • UCDC Program
    UC Riverside/Washington Center Program
  • UC LEADS
    UC Leadership Excellence in Advanced Degrees
Biochemistry
Dr. Richard Debus, Professor of Biochemistry. Plant Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Email: Richard.Debus@ucr.edu
Phone:(951)827-3483
Dr. Michael Dunn, Professor of Biochemistry. Physical Biochemistry, Molecular Endocrinology
Email: Michael.Dunn@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-4235
Dr. Paul Larsen, Associate Professor of Biochemistry. Molecular Biology, Plant Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Signal Transduction
Email: Paul.Larsen@ucr.edu
Phone: (951) 827-2026
Dr. Xuan Liu, Professor of Biochemistry. Molecular Biology, Biomedical Research
Email: Xuan.Liu@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-4350
Dr. Ernest Martinez, Associate Professor of Biochemistry. Molecular Biology, Biomedical Research
Email: Ernest.Martinez@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-2031
Dr. Noboru Sato, Assistant Professor of Biochemistry. Stem Cell Biology, Biomedical Research
Email: Noboru.Sato@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-3644
Chemistry
Dr. Roger Atkinson, Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry. Gas-phase atmospheric chemistry of organic compounds
Email: Roger.Atkinson@ucr.edu
Phone:(951)827-4191
Dr. Guy Bertrand, Professor of Chemistry. Organic and Inorganic Main Group Element Chemistry
Email: Guy.Bertrand@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-2719
Dr. Quan "Jason" Cheng, Associate Professor of Chemistry. Analytical and Materials Chemistry
Email: Quan.Cheng@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-2702
Dr. Jay Gan, Professor of Environmental Chemistry. Processes of organic compounds in ecosystems
Email: jianying.gan@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-2712
Dr. Cynthia Larive, Professor of Chemistry. Analytical Chemistry
Email: Cindy.Larive@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-2990
Dr. Michael Marsella, Associate Professor of Chemistry. Organic, Materials and Polymer Chemistry
Email: Michael.Marsella@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-7223
Dr. Thomas Morton, Professor of Chemistry. Organic Chemistry & Neuroscience
Email: Thomas.Morton@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-4735
Dr. Len Mueller, Associate Professor of Chemistry. Physical Chemistry
Email: Leonard.Mueller@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-3565
Dr. Michael Pirrung, Professor and UC Presidential Chair in Chemistry
Organic Chemistry
Email: Michael.Pirrung@ucr.edu
Phone:(951)827-2722
Dr. Chris Reed, Professor of Chemistry. Inorganic Chemistry
Email: Chris.Reed@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-5197
Dr. Francisco Zaera, Professor of Chemistry. Surface reactions at the molecular level
Email: Francisco.Zaera@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-5498
Environmental/Earth Science
Dr. Roger Atkinson, Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry. Gas-phase atmospheric chemistry of organic compounds
Email: Roger.Atkinson@ucr.edu
Phone:(951)827-4191
Dr. Jay Gan, Professor of Environmental Chemistry. Processes of organic compounds in ecosystems.
Email: jianying.gan@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-2712
Dr. Robert Green, Turfgrass Research Specialist. Defines irrigation requirements of turfgrasses and studying methods, including plant selection and modifications to irrigation and turfgrass management practices, leading to increased irrigation water efficiency and conservation (http://ucrturf.ucr.edu)
Email: Robert.Green@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-2107
Dr. Tim Lyons, Professor of Biogeochemistry. Sedimentary Geochemistry, Biogeochemical Cycles, Astrobiology
Email: timothy.lyons@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-3106
Dr. David Oglesby, Associate Professor of Geophysics. Earthquake physics (in particular, the effects of fault geometry and stress inhomogeneity on earthquake dynamics), computational models of faulting, wave propagation, and earthquake ground motion
Email: david.oglesby@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827- 2036
Dr. Alan Williams, Associate Professor of Geochemistry. Stable isotope geochemistry; meteoric origin, fractionation mechanisms, and transport of ground waters. Chemical hydrology; chemical and isotopic interaction of water and rock in environmental, groundwater and hydrothermal circulation systems
Email: alan.williams@ucr.edu
Phone: (951) 827- 4611
Life Sciences
Dr. Michael F. Allen, Professor Department of Plant Pathology and Department of Biology. Evolutionary Biology
Email: Michael.Allen@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-5494
Dr. Douglas Altshuler, Assistant Professor of Biology. Evolutionary and physiological ecology, with emphasis on the aerodynamics, neural control, and behavior of flight
Email: Douglas.Altshuler@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-4286

Dr. Edith Allen, CE Natural Resources Specialist & Professor of Plant Ecology. Restoration Ecology, Nitrogen Deposition
Email: Edith.Allen@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-2123

Dr. Kurt Anderson, Assistant Professor of Biology. Research projects are in the general areas of population and community ecology and ecological theory.
Email: Kurt.Anderson@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-2499
Dr. Peter Atkinson, Professor of Entomology. Genetics of medical and agricultural important insects; Development of transposable elements as gene vectors in insects
Email: Peter.Atkinson@ucr.edu
Phone:(951)827-4782
Dr. Julia Bailey-Serres, Professor of Genetics & Geneticist. Signal Transduction and Gene Regulation
Email: Julia.Bailey@ucr.edu
Phone:(951)827-3738
Dr. Nancy Beckage, Professor of Entomology, Cell Biology & Neuroscience. Biochemical host-parasite and host-pathogen relationships; Insect proteins, Immunity, Endocrinology and Virology
Email:Nancy.Beckage@ucr.edu
Phone:(951)827-3521

Dr. Devin Binder, Associate Professor, Division of Biomedical Sciences, UCR School of Medicine.  Translational Neuroscience Research (http://www.binderlab.com/
Email: Devin.Binder@ucr.edu
Phone:(951)827-2224

Dr. Kathy Borkovich, Professor of Plant Pathology & Fungal Cell Biologist/Biochemist. Signal transduction pathways used by fungi to respond to their environment
Email: katherine.borkovich@ucr.edu
Phone: (951) 827-2753
Dr. Ring Carde, Professor of Entomology. Insect responses to semiochemicals, evolution of communication systems, use of semiochemicals in pest management
Email: Ring.Carde@ucr.edu
Phone: (951) 827-4492
Dr. Richard A. Cardullo, Professor of Biology. Cell and Molecular Biology
Email: Richard.Cardullo@ucr.edu
Phone:(951)827-6457
Dr. Mark A. Chappell, Professor of Biology. Physiology, Evolutionary Biology
Email: Mark.Chappell@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-7709
Dr. Timothy Close, Professor of Genetics. Genetics of environmental stress tolerance
Email: Timothy.Close@ucr.edu
Phone:(951)827-3318
Dr. Michael Coffey, Professor of Plant Pathology. Phytophthora systematics, genetics, and pathology
Email:Michael.Coffey@ucr.edu
Phone:(951)827-4764
Dr. Margarita Curras-Collazo, Associate Professor of Neuroscience
Email: Margarita.Curras@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-3960
Dr. Paul De Ley, Associate Professor of Nematology
Email: Paul.DeLey@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-2280
Dr. Daphne J. Fairbairn, Professor of Biology. Evolutionary Biology
Email: Daphne.Fairbairn@ucr.edu
Phone:(951)827-4791
Dr. Theodore Garland, Jr., Professor of Biology. Physiology, Evolutionary Biology
Email: Theodore.Garland@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-3524
Dr. John Gatesy, Associate Professor of Biology. Evolutionary Biology
Email: John.Gatesy@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-3800
Dr. Robert Green, Turfgrass Research Specialist. Defines irrigation requirements of turfgrasses and studying methods, including plant selection and modifications to irrigation and turfgrass management practices, leading to increased irrigation water efficiency and conservation (http://ucrturf.ucr.edu)
Email: Robert.Green@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-2107
Dr. Sarjeet Gill, Professor of Cell Biology and Entomology. Cellular and molecular approaches to elucidate the mechanisms of toxicity and cell membrane transport
Email: Sarjeet.Gill@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-3087
Dr. Leah Haimo, Professor of Biology, Associate Dean, Graduate Division. Cell and Molecular Biology
Email: Leah.Haimo@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-5632
Dr. Kimberly A. Hammond, Associate Professor of Biology
Associate Dean for Recruitment and Outreach in the Graduate Division. Physiology, Evolutionary Biology
Email: kimberly.hammond@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-4767
Dr. Daniel Hare, Professor of Entomology. Evolutionary ecology of plant-herbivore and tritrophic interactions,Chemical ecology, Ecological genetics
Email: Daniel.Hare@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-2858
Dr.Cheryl Hayashi, Professor of Biology. Evolutionary Biology, Cell and Molecular Biology
Email: Cheryl.Hayashi@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-4322
Dr. Seung-Chul Kim, Assistant Professor of Plant Systematics. Plant molecular systematics and evolutionary genetics
Email: Seung-Chul.Kim@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-2403
Dr. John Klotz, Extension Specialist. Ant control and ant behavior
Email:john.klotz@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-3898
Dr. Bob Krieger, Extension Specialist. Extension toxicology, Human chemical encounters, Chemical risk assessment
Email: bob.krieger@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-3724
Dr. Elizabeth Lord, Professor of Botany and Developmental Biology. Pollination, Pollen Tube Guidance, Pistil ECMs, Adhesion
Email: Elizabeth.Lord@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-4441
Dr. Morris Maduro, Assistant Professor of Biology. Developmental Biology
Email: Morris.Maduro@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-7196
Dr. Manuela Martins-Green, Professor of Cell Biology. Cell and Molecular Biology
Email: Manuela.Martins@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-2585
Dr. Dmitri Maslov, Professor of Biology. Molecular and Evolutionary Biology
Email: Dmitri.Maslov@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-6485
Dr. Jocelyn Millar, Professor of Entomology. Identification and synthesis of pheromones, kairomones and other semiochemicals mediating insect behavior;Insect behavior; Biological control of pests of Eucalyptus
Email: Jocelyn.Millar@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-5821

Dr. James Ng, Assistant Professor and Assistant Plant Pathologist. Plant virology and virus-insect vector interactions
Email: jamesng@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-4223

Dr. Eugene Nothnagel, Professor of Plant Physiology. Arabinogalactan Proteins, Cell Wall Structure, Plasma Membrane Structure and Dynamics
Email: Eugene.Nothnagel@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-3777
Dr. Leonard Nunney, Professor of Biology, Director EE GRU. Evolutionary Biology
Email: Leonard.Nunney@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-5011
Dr. Martha L. Orozco-Cardenas, Academic Coordinator. Transforming plants of interest to researchers at UCR
Email: mlorozco@citrus.ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-2885
Dr. Thomas Perring, Professor of Entomology. Arthropod Vectors of Plant Pathogens; Biology, Ecology, and Control of Agriculturally-Important Mites; Integrated Pest Management
Email: Thomas.Perring@ucr.edu
Phone:(951)827-4562
Dr. Edward Platzer, Professor of Nematology and Biology. Cell Biology, Physiology
Email: Edward.Platzer@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-4352
Dr. Antoon Ploeg, Associate CE Specialist & Associate Nematologist. Nematode control: this includes research on the use of cover crops, soil solarization, biofumigation, bio-rational nematicides, and nematode resistant rootstocks.
Email: Antoon.Ploeg@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-3192
Dr. David Reznick, Professor of Biology. Evolutionary Biology
Email: David.Reznick@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-5820
Dr. Derek Roff, Professor of Biology. Evolutionary Biology
Email: Derek.Roff@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-2437
Dr. Mikeal Roose, Professor of Genetics & Geneticist. Identification of genes causing apomixis in citrus, Breeding and evaluation of new asparagus cultivars
Email:Mikeal.Roose@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-4137
Dr. John Rotenberry, Professor of Biology; Director, Natural Reserve System. Evolutionary Biology
Email:John.Rotenberry@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-3953
Dr. Wendy Saltzman, Associate Professor of Biology. Physiology, Evolutionary Biology
Email: Wendy.Saltzman@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-6356
Dr. Clay Sassaman, Professor of Biology. Evolutionary Biology
Email:Clay.Sassaman@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-5932
Dr. Frances Sladek, Professor of Cell Biology. DNA Binding, Protein-Protein Interactions, Post-translational modifications, Genome-wide analysis of HNF4 target genes
Email: Frances.Sladek@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-2264
Dr. Mark Springer, Professor of Biology. Molecular and Evolutionary Biology
Email: Mark.Springer@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-6458
Dr. Patricia Springer, Associate Professor of Genetics & Geneticist/Vice Chair. Genetics, Molecular Biology, Plant Development Associate Professor of Genetics
Email:Patricia.Springer@ucr.edu
Phone:(951)827-5785
Dr. Daniel Straus, Professor of Biomedical Sciences and Biology. Cell and Molecular Biology
Email: Daniel.Straus@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-5612
Dr. Prudence Talbot, Professor of Cell Biology. Reproductive biology using mammalian systems; effect of mainstream and sidestream cigarette smoke on the oviduct, uterus, and corpus luteum of hamsters
Email:Prudence.Talbot@ucr.edu
Phone:(951)827-3768
Dr. Nick Toscano, Extension Entomologist. Develop information about insect-crop pests, insect pest interactions with their hosts, insecticides, insect and crop phenology
Email: nick.toscano@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-5826
Dr. Giles Waines,Professor of Genetics & Geneticist, Director of Botanic Gardens and Herbarium. Population ecology of wild wheat species and landraces in Mediterranean countries
Email: Giles.Waines@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-3706
Dr. Linda Walling, Professor of Genetics. Plant/pest Interactions, Defense Mechanisms, Aminopeptidases and Transferases That Modify the N-terminus of Proteins
 Email:Linda.Walling@ucr.edu
Phone:(951)827-4437
Dr. William Walton, Professor of Entomology. IPM of vector and pest arthropods particularly mosquitoes; Biogeography of freshwater flora and fauna; Trophic interactions of freshwater food webs
Email: William.Walton@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-3919
Dr. Frank Wong, Associate Specialist in Cooperative Extension, Plant Pathology & Associate Plant Pathologist & Lecturer. Urban plant pathology
Email:Frank.Wong@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-2936
Dr. Raphael Zidovetzki, Professor of Cell Biology and Neuroscience. Study of the lipid bilayer membrane structure in transmembrane transduction of biological signals
Email: Raphael.Zidovetzki@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-5628
 
Math and Statistics
Dr. Kurt Anderson, Assistant Professor of Biology. Research projects are in the general areas of population and community ecology and ecological theory.
Email: Kurt.Anderson@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-2499
Dr. Subir Ghosh, Professor of Statistics. Statistical design and analysis of experiments, Linear models, Industrial statistics, Sample surveys
Email:Subir.Ghosh@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-3781

Dr Daniel Jeske, Professor of Statistics, Director of Statistical Collaboratory
Email: Daniel.Jeske@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-3014

Dr. Vyjayanthi Chari, Professor of Mathematics
Email: vyjayanthi.chari@ucr.eduPhone: (951)827-6463
Physics
Dr. Gabriela Canalizo, Associate Professor of Astrophysics, Associate Researcher Observational extragalactic astrophysics, active galactic nuclei (AGN), quasar host galaxies and their environments, broad absorption line quasars, ultraluminous infrared galaxies (ULIGs)
Email: Gabriela.Canalizo@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-5310
Dr. Roland Kawakami, Associate Professor of Physics. Experimental Condensed Matter Physics
Email: Roland.Kawakami@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-5343
Dr. Allen Mills, Professor of Physics. Experimental Solid State and Atomic Physics
Email: Allen.Mills@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-9469
Dr. Ben Shen, Distinguished Professor of Physics
Email: Benjamin.Shen@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-5309
Dr. Allen Zych, Professor of Physics, Emeritus Research Physicist Space physics and astrophysics; atmospheric and solar neutron sources; celestial gamma-ray sources
Email: Allen.Zych@ucr.edu
Phone: (951)827-5642

More Information

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

Career OpportunitiesUCR Libraries
Campus StatusDirections to UCR

Advising Center Information

CNAS Undergraduate Academic Advising
1223 Pierce Hall

Regular office hours:
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday: 9:00am - 12:00pm & 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Wednesday: 10:00am- 12:00pm & 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Tel: (951) 827-7294 or (951) 827-3102
Fax: (951) 827-2243 or (951) 827-2798
E-mail: cnasstudent@ucr.edu

Footer